This page shares the adaptation plans for the Asia-Pacific countries laid out using inputs from Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), National Adaptation Plans (NAP), National Adaptation Programmes of Action (NAPA), and Technology Needs Assessments (TNA) for climate change adaptation.

Flag:AfghanistanAfghanistan National Capacity Needs Self-Assessment for Global Environmental Management (NCSA) and National Adaptation Programme of Action for Climate Change (NAPA)
Flag:BangladeshBangladesh National Adaptation Programme of Action
Flag:BhutanBhutan Bhutan National Adaptation Programme of Action
Flag:CookIslandsCook Islands
Flag:Democratic People's Republic of KoreaDemocratic People's Republic of Korea
Flag:IndiaIndia National Action Plan on Climate Change
Flag:JapanJapan National Plan for Adaptation to the Impacts of Climate Change
Flag:Lao People's Democratic RepublicLao People's Democratic Republic
Flag:MyanmarMyanmar Myanmar' s National Adaptation Programme of Actions (NAPA) to Climate Change
Flag:Republic of NauruRepublic of Nauru
Flag:NepalNepal National Adaptation Programme of Action (NAPA) to Climate Change
Flag:New ZealandNew Zealand
Flag:Republic of PalauRepublic of Palau
Flag:Papua New GuineaPapua New Guinea
Flag:PakistanPhilippines National Climate Change Action Plan
Flag:Republic of KiribatiRepublic of Kiribati
Flag:Republic of KoreaRepublic of Korea
Flag:Republic of MaldivesRepublic of Maldives
Flag:Republic of the
Marshall Islands
Flag:Solomon IslandsSolomon Islands
Flag:Sri LankaSri Lanka National Climate Change Adaptation Strategy for Sri Lanka 2011-2016 (Draft)
Flag:Kingdom of TongaKingdom of Tonga
Flag:Republic of VanuatuRepublic of Vanuatu National Adaptation Programme for Action (NAPA)
Flag:Viet NamViet Nam
NDCsNationally Determined Contributions
In the Paris Agreement signed in 2015, 196 Parties (countries) agreed to set long-term goals to increase their ability to adapt to the adverse impacts of climate change and foster climate resilience. The NDCs are a core element of this Agreement and are critical for the achievement of these long-term goals. Specifically, they embody the post-2020 climate actions or efforts made by each country to adapt to the impacts of climate change. The Paris Agreement (in Article 4, paragraph 2) requires each Party to outline and communicate these efforts.
The Paris Agreement
NAPANational Adaptation Programmes of Action
The least developed countries (LDC) work program, established under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in 2001, include the national adaptation programmes of action (NAPAs) for supporting LDCs in addressing the challenges posed by climate change, given their particular vulnerability. NAPAs are action-oriented, country-driven, flexible, and based on national circumstances. Their document mainly contains a list of ranked priority adaptation activities and projects as well as short profiles of each activity, designed to facilitate the development of project proposals for implementation of the NAPA. Priority sectors (or areas) addressed in the NAPAs are agriculture and food security, water resources, coastal zones, and early warning and disaster management. Once a NAPA has been submitted to the UNFCCC secretariat, the LDC Party is eligible to access funding from the Least Developed Countries Fund (LDCF), managed by the Global Environment Facility (GEF), for the implementation of the NAPA. The GEF agency works closely with the country during each successive step of the LDCF cycle, and ultimately supports the country in implementing the project.
NAPsNational Adaptation Plans
The national adaptation plan (NAP) process was established under the Cancun Adaptation Framework. It enables Parties to formulate and implement NAPs as a means of identifying medium- and long-term adaptation needs, and developing and implementing strategies and programs to address those needs. It is a continuous, progressive, and iterative process, which follows a country-driven, gender-sensitive, participatory, and fully transparent approach.
The Cancun Adaptation Framework
TNATechnology Needs Assessment
The TNAs are a long-standing process under the UNFCCC. Since 2001, more than 80 developing countries have undertaken them to assess their technological needs and address climate change. The Green Climate Fund (GCF) secretariat identifies developing countries' NDCs and TNAs as important reference points for GCF programming. While the TNA process has multiple aims, its principle objective is to support developing countries to enhance the implementation of climate technology projects and programs. Almost all Parties conducted this process with the help of a national ministry. Most technologies for adaptation in the agricultural sector were related to crop management. Specifically, the biotechnologies, involving the development of newer drought-resistant, salient-tolerant, and short-maturing varieties, were allocated the highest priority.